In New York State, the driver learner permit test is now available online. The permit test is for class D (passenger vehicles) and class M (motorcycles and mopeds), along with the application, are now available online. Although online testing does prevent a trip to the DMV, once you pass the test, you must still go to the DMV office to obtain the physical permit. However, the time spent at the DMV is seriously reduced.

During the application process, you will need to upload the necessary identification documents before taking the test. Once those documents are reviewed by the DMV, if acceptable, the applicant may then take the online permit test. Although the test is online, all of the previous requirements are still in place. You must have proof of age, identity, and residence. You must be at least 16 years old in order to apply.

The online test format is the same online as it was in-person. Applicants should still review the driver manual and take practice tests before sitting for the real test. Practice tests are available online on the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) website. As before, the online learners permit test takes approximately 30 to 40 minutes. All test takers must take the test without any assistance from other people and without any materials. However, for 16- and 17-year-old applicants, the test must be supervised by a parent or guardian.

To pass the test, you must answer at least 80% of the overall questions correctly, and 50% of the questions relating to road signs. Scores are computed automatically and are displayed immediately on the applicant’s screen. Perhaps the biggest convenience about the online test is that you may take the test again six hours later if you fail.

Once you pass the test, you may then make a reservation to appear at the DMV to have your picture taken and complete the application process. A parent or guardian must be present for applicants under 18 years old. The learner driver permit will still be valid for approximately five years, depending on your date of birth and when you apply.

On Long Island, while you have your learner permit, you may only drive under the supervision (read: sitting in the car with you while you drive) of a parent, guardian or driving schoolteacher. A parent may give written consent to another person to supervise a learner-permit driver, but that person must have a full valid license for the vehicle being driven and be over the age of 21 years old. You may only drive between the hours of 5 AM and 9 PM. You may not drive after 9 PM through 5 AM.

After having been practicing driving while supervised, you still must take a driver education course before you take your road test. You can enroll in your own driver education course, or you can complete a state-approved course at a high school or college. If you are under the age of 18, even once you take the driver education course, there must be six months between the date you receive your permit and when you schedule your road test. You must take your road test before your learner permit expires. If in the even your permit expires, you must retake the learner permit test, as you cannot renew a learner’s permit.

For more information on the process and requirements of obtaining your New York State learners permit visit https://dmv.ny.gov/driver-license/get-learner-permit.

Law Offices of Jennifer G. Tocci, P.C. 353 Veterans Memorial Highway, Suite 200, Commack, New York 11725 (631) 33-7676 Toccilaw.com

Write a comment:

Leave a Reply

© 2020 Tocci Law